Travel And Tourism

The 7 Wonders of the World: All You Need to Know

A campaign to identify the 7 Wonders of the World was initiated in 2000 by the Swiss Foundation. It appeared to be time for an update, considering that the original Seven Wonders list was assembled in the 2nd century BCE and that only one entrant is still surviving (the Pyramids of Giza).

Presumably, people all over the world decided that more than 100 million votes were cast on the Internet or by text messaging. The official outcome, revealed in 2007, were greeted with cheers as well as some groans. A number of famous contenders, like Acropolis of Athens, missed to make the cut. Without ranking, the following list of the 7 wonders of the world is introduced, and aims to depict world heritage.

Great Wall of China

Great Wall of China The 7 Wonders of the World: All You Need to Know
Great Wall of China, near Beijing. © Digital Vision/Getty Images

The massive Great Wall, a national Chinese icon, was constructed over approximately 1800 years. The Great Wall is one of the man-made wonders of the world and literally several overlapping walls; it is approximated that the cumulative length of those layers is 10,000 to 20,000 kilometers. The wall architecture, which is designed across mountain passes and ridges, makes use of the natural landscape in a strategic way. From southeastern Liaoning Province to northwestern Gansu Province, the best preserved section of the wall stretches east to west. From 1368 to 1644, the Ming dynasty reinforced and retained these sections. It has maintained its conspicuous stance among the 7 famous monuments of the world.

Christ the Redeemer Statue

Christ the Redeemer Statue
Christ the Redeemer statue, Rio de Janeiro. © sfmthd/Fotolia

The sculpture of Christ the Redeemer in Brazil, the most freshly built of the new Seven Wonders, stands 125 feet high. At the time that the statue was constructed in the early 20th century by the Catholic Church, over 90% of Brazilians were Catholic. Photos of the statue of Christ are circulated in Brazil.

It was constructed of reinforced concrete in order for the sculpture to withstand its wide arm span which weights 1145 tons. It is perceived to be the world’s largest Art Deco sculpture.

Its place, atop a 710-meter-high mountain, has left it susceptible to weather and lightning damage. The color of its six million stone tiles matches one of the biggest conservation challenges posed by the statue. You can enjoy the beauty of this one of the 7 architectural wonders of the world in Rio de Janeiro.

Top 10 Famous People with Marfan Syndrome across the World

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu The 7 Wonders of the World: All You Need to Know
Machu Picchu. © Digital Vision/Getty Images

Machu Picchu, one of those that remain unchanged, is a pre-Columbian Incan settlement. Located on the eastern slope of the Andes Mountains, it was possibly constructed for the Incan ruler Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui as a royal resort, not meant for the public to explore. It was subsequently abandoned in use from the mid-15th century to the mid-16th century, though its explanation is not evident.

Even though the Spanish defeated the Incan empire in 1532, the site was not identified by the conquistadors; it was ultimately “discovered” in 1911. The design was incorporated into the natural terrain, cut into the rock by its walls and terraces. Currently, it is approached either by hiking through the Andes on the Incan trail or by train.

The Peruvian government has begun to restrict the amount of time visitors will visit at the site in order to help conserve the infrastructure. Don’t forget giving a visit to this one of the 7 ancient wonders of the world while you’re in Peru.

Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza The 7 Wonders of the World: All You Need to Know
El Castillo (“The Castle”), a Toltec-style pyramid, rising above the plaza at Chichén Itzá in Yucatán state, Mexico. © diegograndi/

Chichén Itzá was a Maya region that finally became part of the Maya-Toltec society. It prospered until about A.D. 1200, and later entered a political coalition with the Mayapán and Uxmal cities. By the moment the Spanish reached in the 16th century, it had already been discarded. In the early 19th century, archaeological earthworks started.

The ruins display religious temples that embody astronomical and scientific Mayan innovation. The Kukulkán Temple has 365 steps, one in the Haab solar calendar for each day. A carving of Kukulkán, also recognized as Quetzalcoatl, crowns the temple. This, one of the old 7 wonders of the world, is located in Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico.

The Roman Colosseum

The Roman Colosseum
The Colosseum, Rome. © fabiomax/Fotolia

The Colosseum, one of the top landmarks in the world and an amphitheater with arcades and half-columns, is an instance of the architectural creativity of the Roman Empire. For four centuries, it was used for gladiator and hunting shows, and also public executions. It was used momentarily as a housing complex after the collapse of the Roman Empire.

Merely one-third of the original building was left in place by earthquake destruction and the mining of the Colosseum’s materials. Since the early 19th century, conservation efforts have been launched. A three-year renovation of the exterior of the structure was finished in 2016. You can witness the beauty of The Colosseum, one of the historical landmarks, in Rome.


The Khaznah (“Treasury”) at Petra, Jordan. © Lovrencg/Fotolia

The city of Petra, one of the most famous monuments in the world, was founded by the Nabateans, who resided for more than 400 years in the Wadi Musa valley, in a region strategically positioned along the early silk and spice trade routes. In A.D., the region dropped to the Roman Empire. A.D.106.

Directly cut into the canyons, the Hellenistic facades use the natural landscape as guides. Today, the sites in the Wadi Musa are susceptible to flash floods and ongoing erosion from wind and rain. In recent years, the number of tourists to Petra has declined, partially due to various uncertainty and violence in the Middle East. Petra, one of the famous historical monuments in the world, is located in Jordan.

Top 10 Most Famous Paintings in the World: You’ll be Amazed to See

The Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal, Agra, India. © TMAX/Fotolia

Taj Mahal is one of the Mughal Empire’s crowning architectural accomplishments and 7 wonders of the natural world. Mughal Empire governed much of the Indian subcontinent from 1526 to 1761, is the Taj Mahal. It took about 20,000 employees and 16 years to build. The construction depicts the style of Mughal architecture, emphasizing symmetry and balance. Restoration measures have been concentrated in recent times on preserving the ivory marble facades from pollution. Taj Mahal still retains its majesty among the famous landmarks to visit and located in India.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button